FM Wong Yinn Long is the sole leader after 8 games

27th Mar 2017 Tournament


Photo by Officials

FM Wong from Penang has scored 7 points and a full point lead over 5 others players namely AGM Nik Farouqi, Lye Lik Zang, Looi Xin Hao, Nor Azmi and Muhd Syazwan.

In Rd 9, Wong just needs a draw to claim the Championship. While, Nik who is pitted against Wong can turn the form book and create a possible 4-way tie for the 1st place before tiebreak count. A scenario that was mentioned by Chief Arbiter during players meeting on the night before the Championship was scheduled to start. The National Champion that comes with the award of National Master title goes to the person Rank No1 after tie-break count. As for the qualification into National Squad, a playoff among the same pointers will be held in Kuala Lumpur at a later date to be notified by MCF.

Update as at 11:00 AM on Day 5: The top 3 boards that decide who is going to win the Championship are still in progress.

Update as at 11: 45 AM: Both Looi Xin Hao and Chua Kian Meng have clinched the Men Team title for Penang with their win over Muhd Syazwan and top-seeded FM Lim Zhuo Ren respectively.

Penang who has 1.5 points advantage over nearest rival Kuala Lumpur after 8 rounds of play has taken an unassailable lead in the Team category after Sumant who is the current Malaysian Masters Champion lost unexpectedly to Abdullah Che Hassan from Johor.

Reported by Chief Arbiter, IA Lim Tse Pin (MCF).