Yinn Long and Nur Nabila Champions RISDA-Malaysian Chess Championships

27th Mar 2017 Tournament


Photo by Officials

The 2017 RISDA-Malaysian Chess Championships concluded today. The Individual Champion for Open Category is Wong Yinn Long from Penang who has scored 8 points from 9 games. Both Looi Xin Hao from Penang and Lye Lik Zang from Kuala Lumpur have scored 7 points. The former won on direct encounter tie-break to be placed No. 2 ahead of the latter.

All 3 of them have qualified into the new cycle of National Men Squad and will join the 8-man current National Squad in Masters tournament coming July. Regardless their results in Masters, they will be accompanied by the best 5 results (other than them) to form a new cycle of National Squad. This gives new members together with the very best of existing members a dynamic resemblance on portraying Malaysians best when the new cycle of National Squad is formed.

While, the Individual Champion for Women Category is Nur Nabila Azman Hisham from Selangor who has scored 8 points from 9 games. Her younger sister Nur Najiha is placed 2nd with 7 points followed Kuala Lumpur players Tan Li Ting and Melanie Koo on 6.5 points. Tan won Melanie on direct encounter tie-break to finish in 3rd place. However, both players will be having a playoff in Kuala Lumpur at a later date to be announced by MCF to choose the 3rd player for a direct qualification as per event regulation for all who finish with same points into the new cycle of National Women Squad. The Women will have their Masters in July.

Penang dominates the Open event and Selangor conquers the Women event

Penang men team won Gold.

The team title for Open category is won by Penang followed by Kuala Lumpur and host Kelantan. While, the team title for Women category is won by Selangor followed by Kuala Lumpur and host Kelantan.

Selangor won Gold in best women team category.

Lastly, medal tabulation for top 3 Individual and team positions: Penang and Selangor wins 2 gold and 1 silver medals followed by Kuala Lumpur winning 2 silver and 2 bronze medals. While, host Kelantan takes home 2 bronze medals.

Reported by Chief Arbiter, IA Lim Tse Pin (MCF).